Elections, Writs Returnable, Dissolutions Number of Date of Date of Dave of Session. Parliament. Opening. Prorogation. Session and Lengths of Parliaments 7 Dec. 6, 1921.³ Jan. 14, 1922.⁴ (Sept. 5, 1925.⁵ (3 y., 7 m., 26 d.⁶ Oct. 29, 1925.³ Dec. 7, 1925.⁴ July 2, 1926.⁵ (208 d.⁶ (Sant 14, 1096.⁴) 8, 1922 31, 1923 Ist Mar. June 28, 1922 113 14th Parliament ... 2nd Jan, June 30, 1923 151 19, 3rd Feb. 28, 1924 1924 143 July 27 1925 1925 4th Feb. 5. June 143 15th Parliament... 1st Jan. 7, 1926 July 2, 1926 1771 Dec. 9, 1926 İst April 14, 1927 782 Sept. 14, 1926.* 26, 1928 7, 1929 Nov. 2, 1926. May 30, 1930. 16th Parliament 2nd June Jan. 11, 1928 138 7, 3rd June 128 Feb. 14, 1929 3 y., 7 m., 0 d.⁵ July 28, 1930.³ Aug. 18, 1930.⁴ 20, 1930 4th Feb. May 30, 1930 100 Sept. Mar. lst 8, 1930 Sept. 22, 1930 15 17th Parliament ... 12, 3, 2nd 1931 Aug. 1931 145 Feb 3rd ł. 1932

4.-Duration and Sessions of Dominion Parliaments, 1867-1932-concluded.

¹Including days (13) of adjournment from Mar. 8 to Mar. 15. ²Not including days (54) of adjournment from Dec. 15 to Feb. 8. ³Period of general elections. ⁴Writs returnable. ⁴Dissolution of Parliament. ⁴Duration of Parliament in years, months and days. The life of a Parliament is counted from the date of return of election writs to the date of dissolution, both days inclusive. ³The ordinary legal limit of duration for each Parliament is five years.

A brief résumé of the history of parliamentary representation follows. Attention may be drawn to the growth in the number of members of both the Senate and the House of Commons since Confederation and to the greatly increased unit of representation in the Lower House.

Subsection 3.—The Senate.

The British North America Act, 1867, provides in sections 21 and 22 that "the Senate shall consist of seventy-two members, who shall be styled Senators. In relation to the constitution of the Senate, Canada shall be deemed to consist of three divisions—(1) Ontario; (2) Quebec; (3) The Maritime Provinces, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick; which three divisions shall be equally represented in the Senate as follows:---Ontario by twenty-four senators; Quebec by twenty-four senators; and the Maritime Provinces by twenty-four senators, twelve thereof representing New Brunswick and twelve thereof representing Nova Scotia. In the case of Quebec, each of the twenty-four senators representing the province shall be appointed for one of the electoral divisions of Lower Canada specified in schedule A to Chapter I of the Consolidated Statutes of Canada". Further, under section 147 of the same Act, it is provided that "in case of the admission to Confederation of Newfoundland or Prince Edward Island, each shall be entitled to a representation in the Senate of four members". "Prince Edward Island when admitted shall be deemed to be comprised in the third of the three divisions into which Canada is divided by this Act" and on its admission "the representation of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick shall, as vacancies occur, be reduced from twelve to ten members respectively". In case of the admission of Newfoundland, the normal membership of the Senate of 72 members was to be increased to 76, while the maximum number of 78 (sec. 28) was to be 82, sec. 26 containing a provision for the appointment of three or six additional members in certain cases, to represent equally the three divisions of Canada.

38298---5‡